Crime Prevention Month Activities

To celebrate Crime Prevention Awareness Month, the City of Portland Office of Neighborhood Involvement Crime Prevention Program and its public safety partners have planned a series of FREE events for the month of October.  No registration is required for these events.
Training: Bicycle Safety and Security

Wednesday, October 19th, 5:15-6:15pm

Multnomah County Building, 501 SE Grand

Learn how to protect your two-wheeler and yourself from traffic hazards and theft.

Contact: Havilah Ferschweiler, 503-823-0540, havilah.ferschweiler@portlandoregon.gov
Forum: Public Transit Safety

Thursday, October 20th from 6:30-8:30pm

East Precinct, 737 SE 106th Avenue

Portland has a great public transportation system, but people don’t always feel safe riding it. This forum focuses on how to be safe waiting for, riding on, and exiting from buses and light rail.  Bring your questions.

Contact: Katherine Anderson, 503-823-3432, katherine.anderson@portlandoregon.gov
Clean Up: Graffiti Removal

Saturday, October 22nd from 9am-1pm

Mt. Scott Presbyterian Church, 5512 SE 73rd Avenue

Help improve the livability of your neighborhood and experience the satisfaction of removing graffiti.

Contact: Dennis LoGiudice, 503-823-9666, dennis.logiudice@portlandoregon.gov

 

Turn-In: Gun Turn-In

Saturday, October 22nd, 10am-2pm

Rose Garden/Memorial Coliseum, Benton Parking lot

Turn in a working firearm and receive a $50 gift certificate from Ceasefire Oregon. Firearms will be destroyed.

Contact: Mary Tompkins, 503-823-4763, mary.tompkins@portlandoregon.gov

 

Party: Community Policing Reception honoring SW Portland officers

Monday, October 24th at 7pm

Multnomah Center, 7688 SW Capitol Hwy, auditorium

This annual reception honors the wonderful officers who patrol SW Portland.

Contact: Stefanie Adams, 503-823-3131, stefanie.adams@portlandoregon.gov
Hands-on: Engraving party

Wednesday, October 26th from 7-9pm

Kenton Firehouse, 8105 N. Brandon Street

Learn how to mark your property so you can reclaim it if it is stolen.  Bring items you’d like to engrave.

Contact: Mark Wells, 503-823-4098, mark.wells@portlandoregon.gov
Turn-In: Prescription Drug Turn-In

Sat, Oct 29th, 2011 from 10am to 2pm

3 locations: Fred Meyer, 7404 N Interstate; Fred Meyer, 1111 NE 102nd Avenue; and Portland State University, 1880 SW 6th.

Time to clean out the medicine cabinet! Dispose of unwanted meds while protecting young people and water quality.

Contact: Jenni Bernheisel, 503-823-2781, jenni.bernheisel@portlandoregon.gov

 

 

“Our logo states ‘Crime Prevention Around the Block, Crime Prevention Around the Clock,’ says Stephanie Reynolds, the manager of the City’s Crime Prevention Program at the Office of Neighborhood Involvement. “Even so, October is a stand-out month for us. Our staff has prepared a variety of trainings and events to celebrate Crime Prevention Awareness Month. There is something for everyone!”

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s